Within the classification of Fey, there are three sub-categories of species. These are based off of the magical strength and number of abilities, as well as common personality traits. They are not descriptors of the size of a Fey. A Greater Fey may be the same size as a lesser Fey, but they are remarkably different.

Lesser Fey:

Out of the three categories, lesser Fey have the lowest magical strength and the least amount of magical abilities. On average, they have three to five magical abilities of fairly low strength. Lesser Fey are typically rash, impatient, and terrible liars. They are also very curious, and easily distracted. They primarily run off of their instincts, instead of thinking logically about a situation. 

Lesser Fey have the shortest lifespan of the three types. They would naturally live to around 150 years old, but their rash behavior often leads their lifespans to being around 80-100 years of age. Lesser Fey have the highest fertility rates of the three, at about 40% success rate. However, this is counteracted by the high infant mortality deaths from poor infantile care. 

Examples of lesser Fey species:

  • Brownie
  • Elf
  • Fairy
  • Sprite

Average Fey:

Average Fey, or simply “Fey”, have the highest number of species in their category. They typically have 3-8 magical abilities, and are generally more magically powerful that lesser Fey, but much weaker than Greater Fey. They are less impulsive and impatient than lesser Fey. This leads them to be able to create and sometimes successfully complete a short-term plan. They are not horrible lies, but are able to manipulate others fairly successfully. However, due to their selfishness, they are predictable in their eventual betrayal, when the situation is not longer advantageous for them. 

Fey typically live for about 150-200 years, although some species live up to the 500’s. Their fertility rates are lower than lesser Fey, at about 25% success rate. They are much better at recognizing when their offspring is capable of taking care of itself independently, so their infant mortality rates are not nearly as high as lesser Feys’. 

Examples of average Fey species:

  • Goblin
  • Lamassu
  • Pooka

Greater Fey:

Greater Fey are the most powerful, most influential, and most dangerous of all the Fey. With abilities ranging upwards of twenty or higher, Greater Fey are not to be trifled with. They are highly intelligent, manipulative, and excellent at long-term plans. Unlike lesser Fey or Fey, they will execute long-term plans that are not immediately advantageous for them. Greater Feys are not trustworthy, but they will generally stay true to an agreement or contract until it is over, due to their careful consideration of their reputations. 

Greater Fairies have long lifespans. Some species live into their 800’s, while a few species can live for several thousand years. However, they have incredibly low fertility rates, at about 3% success rate. To make matter worse, the populations of the few Great Fey species are very low, many to endangered levels. Due to their long life spans, Greater Fey are very conscious about the reputation they would like to maintain, since their actions can haunt them for hundreds of years. A reputation can help or hinder their ability to gain whatever it is that they desire, be it a physical object, land, gold, or worship. Some prefer to have a war-like reputation, while others maintain a more fair reputation. Some prefer to not interact with other Fey at all and become hermits.

Examples of Greater Fey species:

  • Sphinx
  • Baku
  • Rumptifusel